Why Share Market is Closed Today?

Spread the knowledge of Tax

The year 2021 will have 13 stock market holidays including 5 extended weekends because of holidays failing either on Monday or Friday. Check out the answer to your question, “Why Share Market is Closed Today?

Indian Stock Market remains closed on Sunday and Saturday, and apart from weekly holidays, the stock exchange in India also remains closed on national and state holidays.

Why Share Market is Closed Today?

List of Share Market Holidays 2021

Why Share Market is Closed Today- On 01st May 2021, The share market (both BSE and NSE) will remain closed on account of weekly holidays i.e. Saturday. Other Holidays of share markets for the year are as follow-

S. No. Date Day Holidays
1 January 26, 2021 Tuesday Republic day
2 March 11, 2021 Thursday Mahashivratri Day
3 March 29, 2021 Monday Holi
4 April 02, 2021 Friday Good Friday
5 April 14, 2021 Wednesday Dr, Baba Saheb Ambedkar Jayanti
6 April 21, 2021 Wednesday Ram Navami
7 May 13, 2021 Thursday Id-ul-Fltr (Ramzan Eid)
8 July 21, 2021 Wednesday Id-al-Adha (Bakri-Id)
9 August 19, 2021 Thursday Muharram
10 September 10, 2021 Friday Ganesh Chaturthi
11 October 15, 2021 Friday Dussehra
12 November 04, 2021 Thursday Diwali
13 November 19, 2021 Friday Guru Nanak Jayanti

🎯List of Bank Holidays in 2021- Banks will remain shut on these days in 2021

Stock Market Holidays falling on Sunday/Saturday

Following Share Market Holidays 2021 Falling on Saturday and Sunday-

S. No. Date Day Holidays
1 April 25, 2021 Sunday Mahavir Jayanti
2 May 01, 2021 Saturday Maharashtra Day
3 August 15, 2021 Sunday Independence Day
4 October 02, 2021 Saturday Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti
5 December 25, 2021 Sunday Christmas
Why Share Market is Closed Today in India

All the holidays listed above are only the observed data and not the actual date. For example- If Christmas Day falls on a weekend many stock exchanges will close on the Friday before or the Monday after. Exchange sometimes closes multiple days for a holiday or has modified hours instead of fully closing.

In 2021, Muhurat Trading will take place on November 04, 2021, during the Diwali festival. Timing on Muhurat is notified later by the stock exchange. take a look at the NSE Holidays List 2021 in India.

New Tax Route Twitter

Feedback/Suggestion- Hope you all find it useful, please give your valuable feedback & let us know if there is an error. Thanks in Advance.


Spread the knowledge of Tax

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.